Coca Cola Chicken Wings 可乐鸡翅

Coca Cola Chicken Wings

I love watching cooking videos on YouTube. One can most certainly find something old, something new, something complicated and something easy.

For $12, I can get 4 kilos of chicken wings in QVM so yes we eat a lot of wings. I have deep-fried, pan-fried, braised, stewed, curried and steamed them for the last 10 weeks – I’m running out of ideas!

I consulted YouTube, came to a Moroccan cooking channel that showcased a beautiful Chicken Tajine with Preserved Lemon dish but I didn’t have that lovely Tajine so I started switching to other videos. With one video leading to another, I finally came to this – Coca Cola Chicken Wings. Hmmm… I’m not a fan of carbonated drinks or soda except when it’s in my whisky 🙂

Finally saw this promising dish that uses 2 pounds of chicken wings and a cup of Coca Cola. Hey, I have 1 kilo of wings defrosted in my fridge and presto! Coca Cola Chicken Wings for our next dinner. That was yesterday. Ray just got home from work and I wanted someone to back me up on this decision so I showed him the video. He okay-ed that and this afternoon after lunch at Gekkazan, we went to Big W and got some Cola. So here I present to you my experimentation with this recipe from EasyChineseFood on You Tube.

Coca Cola Chicken Wings1©BondingToolMarinate 1kg of cleaned chicken wings with 1 tablespoon light soy sauce and set aside for 15 minutes.

Coca Cola Chicken Wings2©BondingToolWarm up some cooking oil and pan fry the marinated chicken wings over medium heat.

Coca Cola Chicken Wings3©BondingToolAdd 1 tablespoon light soy sauce, a pinch of salt and 1 cup of Coca Cola into the pan.

Coca Cola Chicken Wings4©BondingToolThe liquid will foam but don’t worry. Cover the pan with a lid and stew for 15 minutes over medium low heat.

Coca Cola Chicken Wings5©BondingToolStir the chicken in between cooking as Coca Cola has plenty of sugar in it. The caramelised chicken wings may stick to the pan so take extra care in this step.

Coca Cola Chicken Wings6©BondingToolVoila!

The chicken wings tasted great as promised in the video. It has somewhat a smokey flavour just like barbecued wings. This recipe is definitely for keeps.

Recipe credit to EasyChineseFood

Happy cooking 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.