Elegant Grand Astor High Tea

Singapore is a tiny red dot on the world map. Even so, an appointment to catch up with your friends can take months to materialize. Space Donut and I had been making, postponing and rearranging a gathering for months now. We finally got round to it on Monday, 24 hours after Mother’s Day. The venue was St. Regis Hotel Singapore, located in the coveted address on 29 Tanglin Road. Space Donut (my girlfriend who wanted to remain anonymous as she has much to complain) and I, both mothers, had wanted the pampering of Mother’s Day to linger so we chose Brasserie Les Saveurs – to indulge in their exquisite culinary moments. The legendary 5-star St. Regis, nestled in the heart of Orchard Road (Singapore’s most prestigious residential address and shopping belt) promises to captivate our senses by meeting demands of luxury connoisseurs and thus we eagerly anticpated the treatment of world class hospitality at its finest! Space Donut (SD) and I get on very well because we are birds of a feather. We can speak our minds freely in each other’s company. SD said, “Sam, please do not ask me to comment on the food but I will and you can quote me on the service of this place.” And we’ve only has just begun…

IMG_9253©BondingTool

Entrance to Brasserie Les Saveurs – St. Regis Hotel, Singapore.

Brasserie Les Saveurs - St. Regis Hotel, Singapore.

Brasserie Les Saveurs – St. Regis Hotel, Singapore.

High Tea Menu suggests a wide variety of Teas.

High Tea Menu suggested a wide variety of Teas but they did not carry Orange Pekoe.

Rose Tea for me. SD had wanted some fancy French Earl Grey but they only got regular - one demerit.

So it’s Rose Tea for me. SD had wanted some fancy French Earl Grey but they’d only got regular – one demerit.

First complain came from SD that there's no tong for the sugars. Use teaspoon or hand?

SD said, “There’s no tong for the sugars. Use teaspoon or hand? This is a 6-star hotel and I shouldn’t be asking.”
6 stars? Hmmm… I thought premier 5 star only?

Appetisers Section offered 7 dishes.

Starters section offered 7 dishes – 4 types of Assorted Sushi on the oriental side while…

The western front presented Pork Terrine, Parma Ham and Smoked Samon.

the western front presented Pork Terrine, Parma Ham and Smoked Samon.

Capers, lemon wedges, pickled baby onions, teapot of shoyu, wasabe and Japanese pickled ginger to go with the above appetisers.

Capers, lemon wedges, pickled baby onions, teapot of shoyu, wasabe and Japanese pickled ginger to go with the above appetisers. No saucers for shoyu or chopsticks to be found anywhere. Saucers were later brought out but still no sticks.

Next, P grumbled that there's no saucer for the soy sauce that was stored in a teapot next to the sushi station. ALso, chopsticks were not offered.

Space Donut grumbled that there’s no saucer for the soy sauce that was stored in a teapot next to the sushi station. Also, chopsticks were not offered for the sushi. I did asked for a pair but they (chopsticks and sugar tongs) never came.

Pork Terrine and Smoked Salmon. SD had 3 rounds of salmon.

Pork Terrine and Smoked Salmon for me. SD had 3 rounds of Smoked Salmon and some Parma Ham.

IMG_9016©BondingTool

I truly enjoyed the Pork Terrine and Smoked Salmon with capers and pickled onions for breakfast…

I truly enjoyed the Pork Terrine and Smoked Salmon with capers and pickled onions.

As you might have guessed – I just woke up 30 minutes ago! Still reeling from last night’s after Mother’s Day dinner party, lol…

The lady came and informed us that our 3 tier tea delights will be served soon. While SD was rambling on about the "software" of good service, my limited attention span firected me to look up and took a snapshot of what's above me.

The hostess came and informed us that our 3 tier tea delights would be served soon. While SD was rambling on about the “software” of good service, my limited attention span directed me to look up and took a snapshot of what’s above me. Is this gonna crash like Phantom of The Opera? I had better scoot off.

I left SD alone in her “poor service” misery, brought along my “eye” and wandered off to wherever it took me.

To empty tables...

To empty tables…

And foods which I did not partake, I took them in with my eyes…

Our 3 tiered came while I was roaming the brasserie.

Our 3 tiered came while I was roaming the brasserie.

Our host was introducing the layers of items offered. Since SD said it was 6 star hotel, I'll give her as many stars as she wants.

Our host was introducing the layers of items offered. Now that’s 6 star service! SD was getting all the star treatment 😉

What's that?

What’s that?

The top tier offered Mushroom Soup in cups and Beef Cubes with Puff Pastry.

The top tier offered Mushroom Soup in mini cups and Beef Cubes with egg washed Puff Pastry.

My share of tier numero uno.

My share of tier numero uno.

Beef Cubes were slightly over-cooked but very tasty. I loved the Puff Pastry!

Beef Cubes seasoned with Salt and Black Pepper were slightly over-cooked but very tasty. I loved the flakyPuff Pastry!

I had my soup with tier number two, Bacon or was it Ham and Egg Quiche? The pudding or some sort of curdish tasting thing in the ramekin was blah...

I had my Mushroom Soup (really good, creamy but not overly thickened and not wild at all) with tier number two, Bacon or was it Ham and Egg Quiche? The pudding or some sort of curdish tasting thing in the ramekin was blah… I wasn’t there when the host introduced the items and SD had said not to ask her about food 😦

The finger sandwiches were a keeper! Thin Tomato and Cucumber slices, Chunky Crabmeat, Hard-boiled Eggs with mayonnaise and Smoked Salmon with Cream Cheese and Dill.

The finger sandwiches were a keeper! Ultra thin Tomato and Cucumber slices, Chunky Crabmeat, Hard-boiled Eggs with mayonnaise and Smoked Salmon with Cream Cheese and Dill.

Still not satisfied with my carbo intake, I took one of each scones.

Still not satisfied with my carbo intake, I took one of each scones.

English Scones - Are they Devon or Cornwall?

English Scones with Clotted Cream – Star of Cream Teas.
From left to right: Duck with Orange Scone, Cranberry Scone, Perigold Black Summer Truffle Scone, forgot the name but taste like Pesto and St. Regis Classic. Passionfruit, Mango Marmalade and Strawberry Jam. Clotted Cream in centre.

Devon Scones and Cornwall Clotted Cream.

The Grand Astor Afternoon Tea.

Should the jam or cream be first onto a scone?

Should the jam or cream be first onto a scone?

The long-running rivalry between Devon and Cornwall over cream teas has been reignited with news that a Devon dairy has launched a campaign to apply for Protected Designation of Origin (PDO) for the name "Devon cream tea". Cornwall, of course, already has PDO for its clotted cream.

The long-running rivalry between Devon and Cornwall over cream teas has been reignited with news that a Devon dairy has launched a campaign to apply for Protected Designation of Origin (PDO) for the name “Devon Cream Tea”. Cornwall, of course, already has PDO for its clotted cream.

I don't know and I don't care. They taste good to me either way.

I don’t know and I don’t care. I put butter, jam and cream not necessarily in that order – which ever is nearer to me at the time of eating. They taste good to me either way.

Sometimes, I eat the warm scones with fresh berries. Other times not.

Sometimes, I eat the warm scones with fresh berries. Other times not.

Pistachio and Coffee Mousse.

Pistachio and Coffee Mousse.

I couldn't decide which was better. The Pistachio was nice... the Coffee sweeter.

I couldn’t decide which was better. The Pistachio was nice and creamy… the Coffee fluffier and sweeter.

Our host was servicing with a smile at all times.

Our host was servicing with a smile at all times.

All good things must come to an end.

All good things must come to an end.

Our bill came to S$46 per person before taxes.

Our bill came to S$46 per person before taxes.

I had forgotten most of what we talked about during that couple of hours but it doesn’t matter. We had a good time and we shall catch each other again. Call on your alienated buddies today… it’s time to renew your friendships.

Happy reunion 🙂

Epitomising plush elegance.

Epitomising plush elegance.

The St. Regis Singapore
Brasserie Les Saveurs
29 Tanglin Road,
Singapore 247911.
Tel: +65 65066888

Comments
13 Responses to “Elegant Grand Astor High Tea”
  1. lignumdraco says:

    Looks good! How does this compare to Raffles?

  2. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com says:

    Outstanding post.The food ,the pictures the surrounding.,so appealing.Best wishes.jalal

  3. Peter Archbold says:

    Looks amazing (except the capers). Way better than any afternoon tea I’ve had in London.

  4. super clear pictures. don’t know how you can eat and keep a steady hand at the same time.

  5. Looks sooooooooooo yummy. Can’t wait for Heaven! I’m sure it’ll be better!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.