Dong Nan Xi Bei 东南西北

I was born and raised where the red star indicates and I am glad to say that I have traveled North, South, East & West.

I was born and raised where the red star indicates and I am glad to say that I have traveled North, South, East & West.

In English, we often say North, South, East, West but in Mandarin, the sequence jumbled into “Dong Nan Xi Bei (东南西北)” East, South, West, North. And no matter how you scramble your eggs, the good egg is never confined to one region only. While some may crack their heads looking for good food in Johore, I surf Tony’s blog.

Tyng picked me up from my place, bright and early, to meet Tony (my idol food blogger with more than 2 million pageviews). We intend to beat the traffic at the causeway to Johor, Malaysia, so… Heigh ho, heigh ho, it’s off to work we go! What kinda work are we doing today? As food bloggers, we are going on a food trail of course 😉

I was hoping to cover as many as 8 restaurants but that’s fat hope without my children (8 meals within 16 hours was their record when we were in Kuala Lumpur). Nonetheless, we all had a good time. Scratch good. We had a GREAT time at Nan Bei 南北!

Tony had done a post of Nan Bei Restaurant on 17th January 2013 and is back to check out the new dishes offered on their menu.

Tony had done a post of Dong Po Rou from Nan Bei Restaurant on 17th January 2013 and wanted to update on its taste.

Dong Po Rou 东坡肉 is the signature dish at Nan Bei 南北 Restaurant in Taman Gaya, Johor Bahru, Malaysia.

Dong Po Rou 东坡肉 is the signature dish at Nan Bei 南北 Restaurant in Taman Gaya, Johor Bahru, Malaysia.

Please click on first photo below to view sequential commentary.

My take on Dong Po Rou.

My take on Dong Po Rou. Delicious? You want some?

The twine made this looked like a gift parcel. So this one for's you :D

The twine made this looked like a gift parcel. So this one’s for you. Enjoy 😀

What are they up to?

What are they up to? What’s in the claypot?

Please click on first photo below to view sequential commentary.

Tyng's and my vote goes to this dish.

Tyng’s and my vote go to Cabbage with Roast Pork Claypot dish – MYR$10 single portion.

Let's take a peek at what food bloggers do before they eat. Or at least what I do for my blogposts :D

Let’s take a peek at what food bloggers do before they eat. Or at least what I do for my blogposts 😀

Tyng getting the angle right and Tony touching up on food that has gone dry on the surface due to the length of our phototaking. Our food usually turned cold by the time we settle down for our meal. Now you know why my friends grumble. But when I go out with like-minded colleagues and patient friends, food blogging can be fun and self gratifying.

Tyng getting the angle right and Tony touching up on food that has gone dry on the surface due to the length of our phototaking. Our food usually turned cold by the time we settle down for our meal. Now you know why my friends grumble. But when I go out with like-minded colleagues and patient friends, food blogging can be fun and self gratifying. Newbie blogger like me have to pay for the food and I don’t get any salary from blogging. Ah…The things I do for love!

What's peeking here?

What’s peeking here?

I don’t remember if I had mentioned about my intolerance for lamb/mutton’s gamey smell as I grow older, I used to love eating them especially, lamb chops. When Alan Chan, co-owner of Nan Bei Restaurant suggested (his dad is of Hainanese descent) we should have a bowl, I was not very keen. But hey, I’m a food blogger and I should give it try at least. Besides, Tony and Tyng might enjoy the gaminess. I’m very glad to stay open-minded on this dish. The clear soup was very refreshing, taking in the sweetness from radish, which had a delicate crunch. I also loved the chewy texture of fu chok (deep-fried beansticks). The black fungus provided nourishment which my grandma would approve! Black fungus 黑木耳, according to my old folks helps to reduce bad cholesterol, detox impurities in the digestive system, eliminates skin pigmentation as well as control weight. So introducing this ingredient in the mutton soup is a great idea! I have gone from eww to ooh la la… Clearly a sigh of enjoyment and endorement. This preparation is light not heavy bodied which is good for us living in tropics as I do not want zits popping out of my face! *Chinese believe the lamb/mutton to be yang in constitution and too much consumption especially with herbs can promote heatiness (which is good during winter – promotes blood circulation creating bodily warmth).

Have you tasted Hainanese Mutton Soup before?

Hainanese Mutton in Light Herbal Soup – MYR$15 single portion.

Please click on first photo below to view sequential commentary.

While we were enjoying our meal, Alan proposed another dish – Pig’s Trotters with Ginger and Vinegar 猪脚姜醋. Hypnotically, I found my head nodding up and down. The single portion came and everyone agreed that this mild form of the confinement period’s formula, hence it is suitable for daily consumption as this dish is also considered heaty.

Pig’s Trotters with Ginger and Vinegar 猪脚姜醋

Pig’s Trotters with Ginger and Vinegar 猪脚姜醋 – MYR$7 single portion.

Tony and I do not spray oil or puff cigarette smoke on the food we present to you! What you see is what you get ;-)

Tony and I do not spray oil or puff cigarette smoke on the food we present to you! What you see is what you get 😉

Our verdict? See the thumbs ;-)

Our verdict? See the thumbs 😉

If you are living in Johor or passing through this area, please come in and enjoy the good food and friendly service :D

If you are living in Johor or passing through this area, please come in and enjoy the good food and friendly service 😀

Nan Bei Restoran 南北
Address: 68, Jalan Gaya 1, Taman Gaya, Ulu Tiram,
81800 Johor Bahru, Malaysia.
Tel: +60 12-752 0622.
Map: http://goo.gl/maps/sfGrT.
GPS: 1.563158,103.800834.
Opening Hours: 10:00am to 6:00pm (Closed on Sunday).
Non Halal.

In comparison to the Chinese Mutton Soup I had here and the one in Singapore (see my post here), I will definitely come to Nan Bei for my mutton soup fix!

See my recipe for Pig’s Trotters with Ginger and Vinegar 猪脚姜醋 here.

See my recipe for Roast Pork Belly here.

See my recipe for Dong Po Rou 东坡肉 recipe here.

For review on Nan Bei Restaurant’s Dong Po Rou, please check out Tony’s blog here.

For Tony’s version of this trip on Nan Bei Restuarant, click here.

My trip is not over yet… Look out for the next post!

Happy day tripping 🙂

Thank you Tony for bringing us around and Tyng for holding the silver screen!
Special thanks to Mdm Lim who made sure our food was hot after we’d finish the photo-taking session 🙂

Comments
12 Responses to “Dong Nan Xi Bei 东南西北”
  1. The Mouse says:

    That little parcel of pork belly, almost made me faint. Wow!

  2. lignumdraco says:

    thumbs up! 🙂

  3. I love the way you described the photo sessions…
    btw, you’re lucky since it way a claypot dish…
    since it’s can easily reheated even when it’s cold( i guess it didn’t)
    i’ve got some issue with a meals with a fresh greens garnish and the main course should be serve heat, they turn out soggy when i put the whole dish to the ,icrowave..hehehe

  4. Sofia says:

    I do want some Dong Po Rou! I know many people might not want pig trotters but I would also nod my head very enthusiastically at this 🙂

  5. The Dong Po Rou picture is absolutely beautiful and that’s saying a lot coming from someone like me who never found a liking for fatty meats.

  6. SG Food on Foot says:

    How many restaurants/ places you all manage to cover?

    • Sam Han says:

      Only 3, Derrick. We started late as my girlfriend just got in from Hong Kong that same morning and Desaru took a bit of time. Did you go on the last trail with Tony?

      • SG Food on Foot says:

        I did go on a trail with Tony before. It was food discovering the delish food in JB.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.